The Silence Factory

By Bridget Collins

*Special collector’s edition with designed foil board and endpapers, limited to the first print run*

The whole world disappears when you enter

THE SILENCE FACTORY

‘I loved it. A delicately woven novel with an utterly original premise, it ensnared me from the very first page’ EMILIA HART

‘Extraordinary writing… silk, secrets and silence woven into a gleaming Gothic web. What a treat’ANNA MAZZOLA

‘Epic in scope and rich at sentence level, this is storytelling at its most immersive’ ERIN KELLY

Henry dreams of silence.

A world without the clattering of carriages through cobbled streets, the distant cries of drunken brawls, the relentless ticking of the clock.

Then he meets a fascinating, mysterious gentleman who sells just that. Precious silk that can drown out the clamour of the world – and everything Henry is so desperate to escape.

Summoned to Sir Edward’s secluded factory to try to cure his young daughter’s deafness, Henry is soon drawn deeper and deeper into the origins of this otherworldly gift: a gift that has travelled from ancient Mediterranean glades to English libraries.

Ignoring repeated warnings from the girl’s secretive governess, he allows himself to fall under the spell of Sir Edward and his silk… but when he learns its true cost, will it be too late to turn back?

From the #1 bestselling author of THE BINDING, this is an enthralling story about complicity, desire and corruption – a novel to lose yourself in.

Format: Hardback
Release Date: 09 May 2024
Pages: 384
ISBN: 978-0-00-842404-6
Bridget Collins trained as an actor at the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art after reading English at King’s College, Cambridge. She is the author of seven acclaimed books for young adults and has had two plays produced, one at the Edinburgh Fringe. She is the No. 1 bestselling author of THE BINDING and THE BETRAYALS. THE SILENCE FACTORY is her third adult novel.

'Extraordinary writing… silk, secrets and silence woven into a gleaming Gothic web. What a treat' ANNA MAZZOLA -

'I loved it. A delicately woven novel with an utterly original premise, it ensnared me from the very first page' EMILIA HART -

'I loved Bridget Collins' last two novels so much I was almost nervous to read this one in case it didn't live up to my feverish expectations. I was wrong: in The Silence Factory she has created another world that exists on the edge of time and magic. Epic in scope and rich at sentence level, this is storytelling at its most immersive' ERIN KELLY -

'A gorgeous, gothic read perfect for fans of Jessie Burton' i PAPER -

'Weaving historical accuracy with speculative fiction, this is a gloriously grim Gothic tale, where heightened emotion and a menacing atmosphere add a breathless sense of drama' DAILY MAIL -

”'A wonderfully beguiling Gothic mystery” - HEAT

'Breathtaking… A riveting narrative filled with suspense, intrigue, and poignant reflections' GLAMOUR -

”'A truly spellbinding, unnerving read” - WOMAN'S WEEKLY

'[A] gripping, gothic tale' WOMAN'S OWN -

'Brilliantly conceived and complex' THE BOOKSELLER -

AMAZING READER REVIEWS -

‘Wholly original and unexpected… you are in the hands of a storytelling master' -

‘Beautiful and lyrical’ -

‘I was immediately caught up in the intense, gothic atmosphere with its mystical touches and haunting ambiance' -

‘Dark, compelling, fantastical and absorbing, Bridget Collins has done it again' -

‘I was blown away’ -

‘A splendid work of imagination, almost magical in places, but darkly realistic in others, and a great read' -

'It's as if [Collins] possesses a siren's song, luring us deeper into the story with each turn of phrase' -

‘A gifted wordsmith’ -