Annie Bot: Unabridged edition

By Sierra Greer, Read by Jennifer Jill Araya

Barbie for girls who like Aphex Twin’ SHEENA PATEL

‘An exquisitely written, empathetic novel that asks what it really means to be human’ RED

‘Witty, wicked, and weirdly addictive’ LIONEL SHRIVER

She’s human in every way that matters.

Annie is a robot, created to be the perfect girlfriend for her human owner, Doug. Playful and eager to please, she has dinner ready for him every night, wears the outfits he buys for her, and adjusts her libido to suit his whims. Maybe the apartment isn’t always spotless, but she’s trying to be good enough for Doug. She’s trying really hard.

But as Annie grows more self-aware, she begins to chafe against the borders of her life: the empty weeks spent confined to the apartment, the fitness regimens designed to keep her part-organic body toned, the service appointments to increase her bra size and shave inches off her waistline. Worst of all are Doug’s unpredictable moods, and the way he can punish her without even raising his voice.

Annie starts to imagine the impossible – what would life be like outside Doug’s apartment? What could she be like without Doug?

This powerful, provocative novel from a bold new voice examines the intricate relationship between creator and creation, between human and AI, exploring issues of trust, intimacy, power and autonomy.

Is a human soul something we are born with? Or is it something – through love, pain and other people – we can learn?

Format: Audio-Book
Release Date: 14 Mar 2024
Pages: None
ISBN: 978-0-00-858459-7
Detailed Edition: Unabridged edition
SIERRA GREER grew up in Minnesota before attending Williams College and Johns Hopkins University. A former high school English teacher, she writes about the future from her home in rural Connecticut.

”'An intense, compelling tale” - GUARDIAN, Sci-Fi Book of the Month

”'An exquisitely written, empathetic novel that asks what it really means to be human” - RED

”'A smart dive into big questions about identity, autonomy and power… packs an impressive punch” - THE TIMES, Book of the Month

”'Slyly profound… a brilliant pas de deux, grappling with ideas of freedom and identity while depicting a perverse relationship in painful detail… gripping” - NEW YORK TIMES

'Barbie for girls who like Aphex Twin' SHEENA PATEL -

”'A compelling story of power, consent and control in the age of AI” - GRAZIA

'A dazzling, anxiety-inducing novel' Scientific American magazine -

'A great fit for fans of Never Let Me Go and My Dark Vanessa' NEW SCIENTIST -

”'Such a compelling read. Memorable, emotive, weird-in-a-good way” - NIAMH HARGAN

'Witty, wicked, and weirdly addictive' LIONEL SHRIVER -

'Unexpectedly emotional' DAILY MAIL -

”'A beautifully penned, compassionate tale that probes the essence of humanity” - SUNDAY MAIL

Annie Bot was a Book of the Month in the Guardian and The Times w/c 04.03.24 -