Falling Angels

Tracy Chevalier

ISBN
9780007217236
Pub date
14/08/2014
Binding
Paperback
Price
£9.99

Buy Now from:

Book Overview


Will friendship overcome the social boundaries of Edwardian London in this bestselling historical tale perfect for fans of Audrey Niffenegger and Sarah Waters.

One cold January morning, in the wake of Queen Victoria’s death, two young sets of eyes meet across the graves at Highgate Cemetery. One pair belongs to smartly dressed Lavinia Waterhouse, whose mother clings to the traditional values she sees slipping away; the other to Maude Coleman,
whose mother longs to escape the stifling grip of Victorian society. Thrust together by the girls’ friendship, these two very different families embark on a new century that promises electricity, emancipation and other changes that will shake the very foundations of their lives.

About the author


Tracy Chevalier is the author of six novels, including the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, Remarkable Creatures, The Virgin Blue, Falling Angels, and The Lady and the Unicorn. Born in Washington, DC, she moved to London in 1984, where she lives with her husband and son. She has a website at www.tchevalier.com.

Reviews


‘Sex and death meet again in Tracy Chevalier’s marvellous evocation of Edwardian England’ Daily Mail

‘Cleverly atmospheric’ Sunday Telegraph

‘The author’s grip on the reader is as powerful as in her first novel. It is almost impossible to break off reading this driving narrative’ Independent

‘A master stylist in the making’ Boston Globe

‘Writing about the past — especially this much written-about period — has its pitfalls, but Chevalier has triumphantly avoided them. The result is a novel that shows both the strangeness of the world as it was and its closeness to our own time’ The Times